Getting better …. Really??

After having begun to draw at least a little bit every day I have the feeling to get a bit better. The following incident today, however, took away this feeling again. I was drawing outside in a park in my hometown:

20150816_113949

The drawing is, I feel, ok. I remembered that 14 years ago I already sat there and drew this view. So I browsed through an old sketch book and found the drawing:

skb31

I think the drawings are on quite the same skill level. Which is not too disturbing. Although of course a bit, since there doesn’t seem to be too much improvement. What was worse is that the whole sketchbook contains drawings which are of the same skill level I am at now. So the question is: Do I my skills really improve at all? Or is this process a very slow one? The 2001 drawings stem from a time in which I drew a lot. Have I reached a skill level I once already had and can I go further now? Well, time will show. I hope for the best.

This entry was posted in Allgemeines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

